Venture debt exits rarely make headlines, which is what makes this one worth a closer look. Everlectric, the Cape Town company that leases fully maintained electric vans to businesses, has exited the Vumela Fund, the venture debt facility that helped it grow, and says the next step is a larger funding facility. According to the announcement, which was circulated by Edge Growth, the fund’s manager, on October 8, the money “did what it was meant to do.” The facility’s size, its terms and the exit proceeds were not disclosed, and the announcement does not say whether the exit means the loan was repaid in full or refinanced. So the clearest thing we can say is that both sides describe the outcome as positive, and neither has published a number that would let anyone check.
Start with what Everlectric sells. Founded in 2020 by Ndia Magadagela, Paul Plummer and Wesley van der Walt, it bundles electric panel vans, charging infrastructure and smart fleet technology into one maintained package, aimed mainly at logistics and delivery businesses that want to switch without carrying the cost, complexity and operating risk themselves. Its model is leasing and sales, and BusinessDay reported in 2023 that it also offers live fleet monitoring and EV-specific insurance, with Woolworths using its Maxus electric panel vans for grocery deliveries. When the Vumela facility was announced in February 2025, the company’s customer was described only as “a leading South African multinational retailer.” No fleet size has been published in any of the coverage we found, so claims that the fleet has grown cannot be measured.
The use of the money is the instructive part. Magadagela said the venture debt gave Everlectric access to capital while preserving the flexibility a growing business needs. Per the announcement, the loan funded day-to-day operations so the company could take on bigger contracts with longer payment periods, and it met demand from new and returning customers who wanted to expand their electric fleets after successful pilots. It also supported growth in vans, charging stations and its national presence, including a Cape Town branch that opened in October 2025, with more cities to follow. That is a classic fit for debt: a business that must buy or finance vehicles and wait to be paid can use borrowed working capital to bridge the gap without selling shares.
The lender matters too. Vumela was set up by FNB Business Banking and Edge Growth to finance black-owned small and medium-sized businesses, and the announcement says its team also worked with Everlectric on access to finance, markets and skills. Sources differ on the fund’s start date: the exit announcement says 2010, while a 2022 BusinessDay report says Vumela was established in 2009 and that its first fund launched in 2010. That 2022 report described FNB’s commitment of R200 million to a fourth Vumela fund, with a non-dilutive venture debt facility for technology start-ups that already have venture backing and are raising Series A or B rounds. The earlier funds, according to the same report, deployed R102 million, R157 million and R145 million to eight, 10 and 11 investees. Which fund Everlectric borrowed from is not stated, so we cannot link its facility to those figures, and the same report notes that its eligible businesses are majority black-owned.
What comes next is the real test. Everlectric says it wants to grow its fleet, add charging infrastructure, expand across South Africa and raise a larger facility. A bigger raise means lenders will look harder at how many vehicles it owns, how its lease contracts perform, how reliably customers pay and how resilient charging is in a country where power supply is a concern. For founders running asset-heavy businesses, the lesson is practical: working capital debt can let you win larger contracts without giving up equity, but the next lender will ask for the track record this one helped create. Worth watching are the size and lender of Everlectric’s next facility, new branches beyond Cape Town and any disclosure of fleet numbers or key customers.
Sources: Edge Growth announcement on Bizcommunity; Africa Private Equity News on the Vumela exit; LaunchBase Africa on the February 2025 venture debt; BusinessDay on Everlectric’s business; BusinessDay on FNB’s R200 million Vumela commitment; Everlectric; Vumela Fund.
A note for startup founders: you can find this post, and every post we publish from here on, at raiseready.indexprima.com.